This is why I write.

So I had another post to go up today, something about running around to three different stores looking for pudding cups but that will wait.  I wanted to take a brief moment and touch on some things that have cropped up recently.

A few people have asked me, “Why do you write?  Why do you put yourself out there?”

And for me it’s simple.  I write so others can see what it’s like to live with a child who has Autism, what it’s like to have Autism.  Most people don’t know.  They’d like to know what a meltdown is and how it starts but they don’t have the slightest clue on how to ask or if it’s even OK to ask.  It is, just maybe not in the middle of a meltdown, mkay?

See, when we started out ages ago, Autism was pretty much unknown.  I had to tell my own pediatrician what it was.  Not that I’m ancient and should be fossilized but when we started out, I didn’t have anyone to turn to, no one to ask for advice or compare notes.

I didn’t know.  I didn’t know where to turn and I didn’t know who to turn to.

I write about our lives because I don’t want others to go through the isolation I felt.

I don’t want anyone else to travel the diagnosis alone.

That is why I write.

Read it again if you have to.

Here, look at a pretty picture.

Here, look at a pretty picture.

I write about the funny parts of our lives because that’s what brings me to life, I have to.  If I didn’t look at life with a sarcastic, sometimes sick sense of humor, I’d have been stone cold crazy by now.

I write so other people can see that Autism isn’t a death sentence, it’s not a curse and it’s not something we want to cure.  It’s a part of who we are.  And sometimes as parents, that very fact takes some time accepting.  I get that, I understand it.

I write because it’s OK to hide in the bathroom every once in a while, curled up in the fetal position, rocking.

I’ve been there.

It’s OK to snap and chug an entire pint of Ben and Jerry’s at noon because that’s what it took to get through the day.  It’s OK to cry an ugly cry in the car because your kid didn’t get invited to a party, again.

I’ve been there too.

And it’s OK to want to run away with every fiber of your being because deep down?  Deep down, you know you’ll come back.

It’s OK to do all of that.   I’ve been there.  I’m still there.

I write because there are amazing and beautiful parts to Autism.  The little things in life are not so little for me, they are the things others may take for granted.

I write because the first time I heard, “I love you,” my knees buckled and I crumpled to the floor.  The first time he looked at me for the sheer sake of seeing me, I cried.  The first time he spoke to me, really spoke to me, I still remember it like it was yesterday.

I write because all of those firsts I celebrated because they held meaning, they were important.  And if you don’t know a thing about Autism, you won’t understand how important those little things are — and that’s OK.  I write to help others understand why we hold on to those things, help explain why they are so very important.

I write because I know.

I know what it’s like to be alone and how important it is to have someone, anyone, who understands.  Because having one other person who gets it, really gets it?  That can be a life line, a single thread that keeps you tethered to reality and keeps your sanity intact.

Because I’ve been there too.

And for all of those reasons, that is why I write.

 

Thank you to everyone who supported me over at Mamapedia, your kind words meant the world to me.  You guys get me, understand me and laugh with me.  For that I have no words other than thank you.  

28 thoughts on “This is why I write.

  1. I love your posts. I can relate to so many of them, so, yeah…it’s nice to know that there are others out there who are on similar trajectories. Thanks for writing!!!

  2. Hearing another voice that echoes the one in my head helps, especially with the guilt. Knowing that others understand that I would not change my child is HUGE. You say that to a room full of “typical” parents and you feel like someone is on the phone reporting you for child abuse. Asperger’s and Sensory Processing Disorder is part of who my child is, if it was taken away it would be like cutting off his legs or poking out his eyes. We have reached a good place, we have very few meltdowns and over all he is a happy child now. That does not mean we don’t have a ton of those Aspie or Sensory moments throughout the day. He has learned to manage those without the meltdown and I could not be more proud of the hard work of everyone involved to bring us to the place we are at now. A moment just last night, he saw a friend that he had not seen in a couple of years, He said “You are Bob? Really, you are Bob? You changed, you used to be skinny! Only another person that knows Autism would know it was said as a fact not out of meanness, but as a mom you still cringe don’t you?

    • I sooooo know what you are talking about. We had a similar experience where the words, “You got fat,” were tossed around too much after seeing someone we’d not seen in years. That was AWESOME. 😉

  3. I may be ancient, but i would love to write a blog. It is ki da like a journal right? I have a daughter with aspergers and adhd impulsive. I too would like people to understand because i swear i will deck the next person who says “she doesnt look autistic”! I think it would be a great thing for abbie to see when she gets older…she is 5. I also want people to know how challenging it is to have a non-autistic younger sister. Thanks for this! Please let me know how to do this.

    Love & Autism,
    Stacie

  4. Can’t say enough about people like this that write and give those of us who can’t find the words hope and inspire us to keep fighting….. Their words are not lost …… I look forward to reading these posts each day…. They fill me with confidence and hope …. Thank you!

  5. Thank you from my heart, your words are an inspiration to all of us with children with Autism.
    Bailey-John’s Mom 🙂

  6. Thank you for writing and letting me know I am not alone. Yours was one of the first blogs I visited regularly when I first learned about the World of Blogs. I am always happy you are there.

  7. I love this. And you are right…a sense of humour is a necessity for getting through the hard moments. And even just knowing that I can write later about a tough moment or disaster makes me able to see it as better. Of course the tub of ice cream at noon happens quite regularly too 🙂 I’m glad you write 🙂

  8. Your blog was one of the first blogs I stumbled upon when we first started dancing around autism vs no autism when Mini was younger. It definitely helped me, and I have stuck around because you and the other special needs mom bloggers I’ve encountered are so awesome.

  9. This ^^^ up here? This is why I keep coming back to read your stuff Lizbeth. You are real and I love you for it.

Leave a comment